Already Registered? Please Login

User Name: 
Remember Me:
Please Note: The "Remember Me" option is not recommended for use with shared computers.

New to the Website?

Register Here: Collegians or Alumnae

Home > What's New

What's New

Posted On: Monday, March 26, 2018 07:39 AM

Educational leadership consultants (ELCs) are recent college graduates who serve in a visible role for Theta. As official representatives of Kappa Alpha Theta, ELCs enthusiastically work to support our ideals, goals, and objectives. They also serve as role models for Theta's college chapter members and alumnae volunteers.

Please welcome the 10 leading women selected to serve the Fraternity as the 2018-19 educational leadership consultants!

  • Alicia Cauthen, Beta Mu/Nevada

  • Layne Compton, Beta Delta/Arizona

  • Kate DesCombes, Beta Iota/Colorado

  • Courtney Dunne, Gamma deuteron/Ohio Wesleyan *

  • Kendall Dunovant, Delta Delta/Whitman

  • Kristen Graybill, Alpha Omicron/Oklahoma

  • Marybeth Lilly, Zeta Tau/Delaware

  • Stephanie McNutt, Beta Tau/Denison *

  • Karlie Newell, Gamma Tau/Tulsa

  • Marissa Petri, Theta Theta/NC State

* denotes a returning ELC.

Posted On: Friday, December 22, 2017 09:41 AM
Kelley Galbreath Hurst
Kappa Alpha Theta is pleased to announce that effective January 9, 2018, Kelley Galbreath Hurst will serve as executive director of Kappa Alpha Theta Foundation.

"I am delighted and honored to share Theta Foundation's message with college and alumnae women around the globe," Hurst said. "Today, when the values of the Greek community are being questioned, we are proud that Kappa Alpha Theta is an organization of leading women who support one another throughout their lifetimes. Many of those life journeys benefit from generous giving by donors to help see those dreams come true."

An alumna of Theta's Beta Iota Chapter at Colorado, Hurst brings to Theta Foundation more than 30 years of experience on the Fraternity's staff, working with undergraduate students, alumnae, volunteers, and institutions throughout North America. Her extensive knowledge of Kappa Alpha Theta's mission, values, and Plan of Aspirations is enhanced by professional training in conflict resolution, facilitation skills, risk prevention, and leadership development. Additionally, she has more than 15 years of non-profit management with volunteer board positions, including financial operations and grant distribution.

"Kelley will be a warm and welcoming connection with Theta audiences across the country," said Mary Ellen Kutsenda Fitzsimonds, Theta Foundation president. "She has been a partner to Theta Foundation through Give to Lead, Give to Learn and #GivingTuesday and currently is an active participant in our CASA initiative."

Kappa Alpha Theta would also like to express deep gratitude to Gaylena Merritt, Alpha/DePauw, who has served as interim director of Theta Foundation since late June.
Posted On: Saturday, October 28, 2017 11:00 AM
Earlier this week, we were saddened by the news of allegations of hazing and racism at the Delta Theta Chapter of the University of Florida. Racism and hazing are contrary to Kappa Alpha Theta values and not to be tolerated.

National and local Theta officers are conducting an investigation and working closely with the university. Conducting such an inquiry appropriately may be time-consuming and while it progresses, we are also working to provide the chapter with programming to increase learning, change behavior and develop mastery of cultural competency.

Although these accusations appeared in an online tabloid that specializes in sensationalizing news from college campuses and relies on unnamed sources and social media posts, we do take them seriously and will continue to take action accordingly.
Posted On: Wednesday, October 25, 2017 02:00 PM

A deeply disturbing story in The Tab, an online tabloid, details allegations of hazing and racism at the Delta Theta Chapter at the University of Florida. Racism, bigotry, and hazing are antithetical to Kappa Alpha Theta's core values. Please be assured that national and local Theta officers are investigating the accusations.

Posted On: Wednesday, October 25, 2017 07:33 AM

For the sixth year, Kappa Alpha Theta recognizes faculty for contributions to colleges and universities where Theta chapters are present via the Outstanding Faculty Award.

The faculty members were selected from nominations by Theta college chapters across the United States and Canada. Chapters were asked to select one nominee and base their selection on the professor's passion for inspiring students and actions that connect to Theta's values of intellectual curiosity, leadership potential, commitment to service, and personal excellence. Candidates were not limited by gender, fraternity/sorority affiliation (or non-affiliation), disciplinary expertise, or number of Thetas taught.

This year's honorees include:

  • Dr. Becky Barker, Educational Leadership & Policy Studies, University of Oklahoma, nominated by Alpha Omicron Chapter

  • Dr. Sherryl Broverman, Biology, Duke University, nominated by Beta Rho Chapter

  • Greg Ghio, Communications Studies, University of San Diego, nominated by Eta Iota Chapter

  • Barbara Gurr, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, University of Connecticut, nominated by Gamma Zeta Chapter

  • Dr. Mee-Ae Kim, History, College of Idaho, nominated by Eta Eta Chapter

  • Dr. Sean Nicholson, Policy Analysis and Management, Cornell University, nominated by Iota Chapter

  • Dr. Meghan Porter, Chemistry, Indiana University, nominated by Beta Chapter

  • Dr. Emily Paddon Rhoads, Political Science, Swarthmore College, nominated by the Alpha Beta Chapter

  • Drucilla Ronchen, Linguistics, University of Chicago, nominated by the Epsilon Phi Chapter

  • Dean Amy Ryken, Education, University of Puget Sound, nominated by the Delta Iota Chapter

The Fraternity congratulates these outstanding faculty members for their accomplishments and thanks all of the nominees for their contributions to the scholastic advancement of our members. Learn more about the program and see lists of previous recipients on the Outstanding Faculty Award page.

<< View Older Entries