Outstanding Faculty Award Hero Image

Outstanding Faculty Award

Kappa Alpha Theta is proud to recognize ten outstanding faculty members for their contributions to colleges and universities where Theta chapters are present. Professors are carefully chosen for this award among a pool of distinguished nominees who were nominated by Kappa Alpha Theta chapters across the United States and Canada via an official nomination and selection process. Chapters were asked to select one nominee based on his or her passion to inspire students and actions that connect to Theta aspirations: intellectual curiosity, leadership potential, commitment to service, and personal excellence. Candidates are not limited by gender, fraternity or sorority affiliation (or non-affiliation), disciplinary expertise, or number of Thetas taught.

Commitment to higher education and scholarship, as demonstrated by these faculty members, is also a cornerstone of Kappa Alpha Theta’s mission. This shared commitment—and the desire to honor individuals who have left an indelible mark on the lives of Thetas across the continent—was the impetus to establish the Kappa Alpha Theta Outstanding Faculty Award.

The 2018 recipients are as follows:

Testimonial Heading for screen readers.

  • Ofp 2018 Carli Conklin 2

    This past school year, Professor Conklin has gone above and beyond her role as a professor, meeting with two senior members of @MizzouTheta every few weeks to discuss their lives and burgeoning careers.

    Carri Conklin

    Associate Professor, School of Law and Kinder Institute

    University of Missouri

  • Ofp 2018 Andre Nicholas

    Dr. Nick trained us to basically do what we want to do after medical school. We all can learn diseases by book, but she pushes us to practice what an actual pre-med student wants to practice and will have to do in the future.

    Andrea Nicholas

    Associate Teaching Professor, Department of Neurobiology and Behavior

    UC Irvine

  • Ofp 2018 Dr  Tim Mc Carty

    Dr. McCarty wants us to engage in critical thinking, which shows his genuine interest in how his students are doing. A typical class with Dr. McCarty is never complete without cracking a Plato joke and adding humor into his lectures.

    Dr. Tim McCarty

    Political Science

    University of San Diego

  • Ofp 2018 Adrienne Krone

    She makes sure everyone, no matter how much knowledge about Judaism they have, is able to understand the material we are reading and discussing.

    Adrienne Krone

    Assistant Professor of Religious Studies and Director of Jewish Life

    Allegheny College

  • Ofp 2018 Davis Nozemack Karie

    By continuously going above and beyond to ensure that she forms meaningful, personal connections with each of her students, she becomes truly invested in every student’s success.

    Karie Davis-Nozemack

    Associate Professor of Law and Ethics Law and Ethics (School of Business)

    Georgia Institute of Technology

  • Ofp 2018 Rina Aganwala

    She has a huge range of experience, having worked on international development and gender issues in China, India, and New York. Her past experience helping women become leaders comes through in her teaching style as she continually relates the content to her experiences.

    Rina Agarwala

    Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies, Department of Sociology

    Johns Hopkins University

  • Ofp 2018 John K  Fort

    Not only was he an excellent professor and went out of his way to help every student possible (so long as they were helping themselves), he also took time out of his own busy schedule to make sure that I knew I had someone in my corner.

    Dr. John Fort

    Associate Professor/Pre-Law Advisor, Economics Department

    Wofford College

  • Ofp 2018 Margarita Ribas Groeger

    Professor Groeger truly cares about students’ well-being. She encourages them to speak and practice Spanish, even if they make mistakes, and facilitates discussion with each other. In this way the class could have real conversations in Spanish instead of just responding to questions.

    Margarita Groeger

    Senior Lecturer in Spanish, Global Studies and Language Department

    Massachusetts Institute of Technology

  • Ofp 2018 Lilly Irani

    She encourages her students to listen to and understand new perspectives, fueling our intellectual curiosity through class discussions and insightful, open-ended questions.

    Lilly Irani

    Assistant Professor of Communication & Science Studies, Communications Department

    UC San Diego

  • Ofp 2018 Fox Kami

    She never turns down a student asking to review an exam or needing a letter of recommendation. She scours the internet for materials that may prove useful to her students, even if it means only getting a few hours of sleep.

    Kami Fox

    Director and Chair, Department of Nursing College of Nursing

    Ohio Northern University