Already Registered? Please Login

User Name: 
Remember Me:
Please Note: The "Remember Me" option is not recommended for use with shared computers.

New to the Website?

Register Here: Collegians or Alumnae

Home > What's New

What's New

Posted On: Friday, September 13, 2013 07:22 AM
Kappa Alpha Theta announces its Ten Outstanding Faculty Members. This marks the second year the Fraternity will recognize faculty for contributions to colleges and universities where Theta chapters are present via an official nomination and selection process.

The faculty members were selected from more than 110 nominations by college chapters across the United States and Canada. Chapters were asked to select one nominee and base their selection on the professor's passion for inspiring students and actions that connect to Theta aspirations: intellectual curiosity, leadership potential, commitment to service, and personal excellence. Candidates were not limited by gender, Greek (or non-Greek) affiliation, disciplinary expertise, or number of Thetas taught.

This year's honorees—each of whom received a $500 award from Kappa Alpha Theta—include:

  • Beth Wee, Science and Engineering at Tulane University, nominated by Alpha Phi

  • Cinnamon Brown, History at Westminster College, nominated by Epsilon Iota

  • Debra Fischer, Astronomy at Yale University, nominated by Epsilon Tau

  • Donna Howard, Behavioral and Community Health at University of Maryland, nominated by Gamma Mu

  • Emma Teng, Asian Civilizations and Chinese Studies at MIT, nominated by Zeta Mu

  • Gary Allison, Education at University of Delaware, nominated by Zeta Tau

  • Janet Hyde, Psychology and Women's Studies at University of Wisconsin, nominated by Psi

  • Michael Rhone, Nutritional Sciences at Oklahoma State University, nominated by Beta Zeta

  • Michael Souza, Psychology at University of British Columbia, nominated by Beta Upsilon

  • William (Bill) McClure, Biology at University of Southern California, nominated by Omicron

The Fraternity congratulates these outstanding faculty members for their accomplishments and thanks all of the nominees for their contributions to the scholastic advancement of our members.

<< View Other Entries