1 Alert

(U.S.) Memorial Day Office Closing

Board Service Board Service Board Service

Board Service

One of the greatest ways a member can give back to the organization is through board service. There are three opportunities to serve on a Theta board. Grand Council is the governing body of the Fraternity, Fraternity Housing Corporation board of directors oversee Kappa Alpha Theta’s college chapter housing strategy, and Foundation Trustees support Theta Foundation’s mission and needs. While each board has a unique election process and term limits, all are organized by two-year terms beginning in even years.

A Note on Board Service

Every two years, the legislative body of the Fraternity convenes at Grand Convention to conduct important business, including the election of the members of Grand Council as defined in the Constitution, Article V, Section 1. B. 1. Prior to Grand Convention, the elected nominating committee composed of both college and alumnae chapter delegates meets to review candidates’ applications for board service for both Council and the Fraternity Housing Corporation.

Serving on Grand Council—our governing board—is a rewarding volunteer experience that gives Thetas the opportunity for a high level of involvement. Council members are women who lead and make a difference in the lives of Thetas and others everywhere while being responsible for all aspects of Fraternity operations.

Fraternity Housing Corporation board members focus on all the housing needs of college chapters.

Foundation Trustees are charged with helping secure and manage resources for Fraternity programs and supporting members to reach their full potential.

If you’re interested in serving on any governing board, please check this page often for information and updates. This is where you will find governing board job descriptions, a board slating timeline, a map showing nominating committee districts, an interest indicator, and an application that can be filled out for any one of the three governing boards—Council, Fraternity Housing Corporation and Foundation.

Thank you for your interest in serving as a governing board member. You will not only have created your own legacy but enhanced the legacy of Kappa Alpha Theta for women of today and tomorrow.

Board Responsibilities/Job Descriptions

Grand Council

Grand Council is the governing body of the Fraternity in the interim between Grand Conventions and is responsible for the development and maintenance of the policies of the Fraternity.

Learn More

Theta Foundation

The board of trustees advise, govern, oversee policy and direction, and assist with the leadership and general promotion of Kappa Alpha Theta Foundation to support the Foundation’s mission and needs.

Learn More

Fraternity Housing Corporation

The Fraternity Housing Corporation board is comprised of at least three and no more than five directors who set policy and approve plans for Kappa Alpha Theta housing.

Learn More

Important Nominating Committee Dates

March 1: Interest Indicator opens

April 15: Interest Indicator closes

April 22: Reference Form closes

Throughout April: District Meetings Held (times listed below)

May - June: Nominating committees will meet

By July 1: Council slate announced; Trustees and FHC directors elected

July 13: Council elected by Grand Convention

District Meetings to Elect Representatives to Nominating Committee

Nominating Committee Districts 2024 460x527 image

District Meetings to Elect Representatives to Nominating Committee

District I, Northeast
Wed., April 17 at 6 p.m. Central/7 p.m. Eastern

District II, Southeast
Wed., April 17 at 6 p.m. Central/7 p.m. Eastern

District III, West Coast
Tues., April 16 at 7:30 p.m. Pacific

District IV, South
Tues., April 9 at 8 p.m. Central/9 p.m. Eastern

District V, Great Plains
Thurs., April 11 at 7 p.m. Pacific/8 p.m. Mountain/9 p.m. Central

District VI, Midwest
Thurs., April 18 at 8:30 p.m. Central/9:30 p.m. Eastern

If you would like to participate in any of the above meetings, please contact Angela Merk (M-F 8:30-4:30 ET) with your name, chapter and initiation year for Zoom link information.

Download the District Map

Questions?

Have questions about the nominations process or serving on the Council, Fraternity Housing Corporation and Foundation boards? All correspondence is welcomed and confidential.